phottoman/iStock/Getty Images

E numbers are used to preserve, enhance and help maintain the nutritional value of food. The E471 emulsifier is a common additive that can be found in packaged food items.

Composition

pappystudio/iStock/Getty Images

The E471 emulsifier is composed of two molecules known as glyceryl monostearate and glyceryl distearate. It is manufactured from glycerine (E422), which can be obtained from either animal fats or soy bean oil.

Usage

Medioimages/Photodisc/Photodisc/Getty Images

E471 is frequently used as an anti-staling agent in baked goods, such as breads, cakes and pies. It can also be found in potato crisps, dessert toppings, aerosol creams, custard powder, margarine spreads and ice cream.

Warning

Ryan McVay/Photodisc/Getty Images

E471 can sometimes contain animal sources that are not suitable for vegetarians, vegans, or for those who are following a halal diet. Check the food packaging for clarification; a vegetarian-friendly product will have a special stamp indicating it is so.

Video of the Day

About the Author

Alice Stewart

Alice Stewart is an experienced freelance writer who has specialized in creating unique and informative Web content since 2005. Her previous clients include the Times Online, Wizz Air, Cyprus Air, BMI, Highland Experience and Scottish Tours. Stewart studied English language and law at Oxford F.E. College and completed a Post-Graduate Diploma in performing arts in 2007.