Are Jellies & Preserves Vegan?

Published: Nov 26, 2010
Updated: Dec 13, 2021
1 minute read
Are Jellies & Preserves Vegan?

Being a vegetarian or vegan shouldn't mean that you miss out on tasty jellies and preserves. Vegan food shouldn't be boring, tasteless or unappetizing. The vegan diet can be as varied and as interesting as you make it.

Jelly

Jelly is not usually vegan as it contains gelatin which is essentially made from beef bones, hides and pork skin. It is used as a thickening agent which makes the jelly "set." Most jelly crystals or cubes contain this substance. Vegan jelly can be purchased or made using agar-agar as a substitute. This product is derived from seaweed and has thickening and setting properties.

Preserves

Most preserves (or jams) are vegan-friendly as the method of preservation is the addition of sugar and pectin to the product. Pectin is found naturally in fruit. Fruit with a higher pectin content include blackberries, plums, grapes and citrus fruits. Fruits, such as strawberries, blueberries and cherries, have a lower pectin content. Lemon juice can be added to these fruits to raise the pectin level. Pectin can also be bought in powdered form and as a liquid extract.

Advertisement

Vegan Products

Always check the label on any jelly, jam or preserve you buy. Many of them will be completely vegan and you will not have to visit the health store to buy these goods. If you are good at cooking, making your own vegan jellies and preserves is a great way to ensure a fully vegan product.

Zoe Van-de-Velde

Zoe Van-de-Velde began writing in 1990 and contributes to eHow and Answerbag. Van-de-Velde has a Bachelor of Arts & Humanities in media and English from DeMontfort University. She is currently studying for a Master of Arts in creative…

Sponsored
LEAFtv Logo

LEAFtv is your destination for food, beauty, style and feel-good living, with how-tos and inspiration for everyday life.

Property of TechnologyAdvice. © 2026 TechnologyAdvice. All Rights Reserved

Advertiser Disclosure: Some of the products that appear on this site are from companies from which TechnologyAdvice receives compensation. This compensation may impact how and where products appear on this site including, for example, the order in which they appear. TechnologyAdvice does not include all companies or all types of products available in the marketplace.