When it comes to being an esthetician, or cosmetologist, in the State of Florida, it’s important to know that the state takes its laws concerning licensing seriously. According to the Cosmetology CEO website, you are guilty of a second degree misdemeanor in Florida if you attempt to practice the trade without a license, or to practice on a suspended or revoked permit. In addition, you cannot open or supervise a salon without a license.
According to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation, the State of Florida requires 1,200 hours of study in order to receive a license. In addition, the state mandates that you take and pass a cosmetology test. Should you transfer to Florida, and your state’s curriculum does not meet these requirements, you must take the number of courses it would take to add up to the required 1,200 hours, or 150 days, which is about eight months, and you must take the examination.
Rule 61G5.22.006 provides examples of course requirements for the practice of cosmetology. You must take Florida Laws and Rules, which is worth five credit hours. Also, you must take a course on HIV and AIDS, which is four. A course on sanitation, which entails practices associated with keeping the tools of your trade free from germs that could infect your customers, is worth 10 credits. Facial Techniques and Contraindications carries a heavier weight, at 66 hours. Courses on product chemistry, hair removal and makeup, are eight, 2.5, and two hours, respectively. The rule assigns the greatest weight to the Skin Theory, Diseases and Disorders, part of the required curriculum—a total of 85 course hours.
In the State of Florida, you must take a minimum of four hours in any of the above areas in order to maintain a license, according to the Cosmetology CEO website. According to the Florida Law Course Material website, you must renew your license every other year, by Halloween.
The State of Florida requires all licensees—be they cosmetologists or other professionals—to report any convictions for any crime. As the FDBFR website points out that this also holds true for any crime for which you have pled “no contest.” You must do this within 30 days of such a plea or conviction. Otherwise, you may lose your license.
References and ResourcesMy Florida License: Important Update to Rule 61G5--22.006
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation: Cosmetology
Cosmetology CEO: Florida License Renewal
My Florida License: Do You Have a Cosmetology License In Another State?
Cosmetology CEO: Florida Cosmetology Laws