Tiramisu Art Studio/iStock/Getty Images

A creamy rice dish called risotto hails from northern Italy. Risotto is almost always gluten-free, so it is the perfect indulgence if you have a gluten allergy or intolerance.

Cooking Risotto

Arborio, vialone nano or carnaroli are the usual risotto rices because they have high quantities of amylopectin -- a starch that makes risotto thick and creamy. For a traditional preparation, chefs toast the rice, then cook it in a liquid such as cream or broth. Although risotto is typically savory, you can also make a decadent chocolate or fruit dessert risotto.

Gluten-Free Dish

The safe foods list for individuals with a gluten allergy or intolerance, published by the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, includes rice. However, some additions to a risotto dish may be problematic. Sausage is a common risotto ingredient, and many processed meats contain gluten. To avoid a contaminated dish, cook at home and read all your ingredient labels carefully.