Celiacs, or people who cannot tolerate gluten, can find it hard to find foods that suit their health needs. Ice cream is naturally gluten-free, but many modern brands process it in such a way that gluten is introduced into the product. However, several brands offer delicious gluten-free options any celiac can enjoy.


Baskin-Robbins is one ice cream company that lists all allergen information in front of each ice cream container. The company also list ice creams that do not contain wheat, but does not point out ice creams with barley, rye or oats, so these ingredients must be determined on a case-by-case basis. Baskin-Robbins’ general rule of thumb is that celiacs can eat most of their ice creams but no products in a cone or sandwich because those things contain gluten.

TCBY (The Country’s Best Yogurt)

TCBY also has a list of items prepared without gluten. Many of its ice creams are gluten-free. The only risk with an ice cream parlor like this is cross-contamination, so be sure your server washes off the ice cream scoop before serving you to avoid accidentally putting traces of gluten in your food.

Trader Joe’s

Trader Joe’s has a “No Gluten Ingredients List,” and page 4 of this guide declares the ice cream products that are safe for celiacs to eat. Trader Joe’s offers a wide selection of frozen desserts, so any celiac should be able to find something he enjoys.

Skinny Cow

For the celiac interested in maintaining a healthy lifestyle and watching her weight, Skinny Cow ice cream is a smart decision. Look up the list of gluten-free Skinny Cow products online, find some you like and enjoy your healthy dessert.