Marshmallows originally were made with the gelling agent mucilate, produced from the extract of the marsh mallow plant. Mucilate is a mucousy substance that does not dissolve in water. Today, most commercially manufactured marshmallows use gelatin instead of real marsh mallow extract due to cost and availability. Gelatin is derived from animal hides and bones. It is possible, though, to find vegetarian and even vegan marshmallows.

Things You'll Need

Go online and order vegan marshmallows from Sweet & Sara in Queens, New York, or shop for its product at stores around the country, including many Whole Foods stores and vegan/vegetarian specialty shops. The company produces vanilla as well as such nontraditional flavors as Mexican chocolate and toasted coconut. See Resources.

Buy marshmallows made with fish gelatin if you are a pesco-vegetarian. Many stores sell these marshmallows, such as Earth Fare Grocery, an organic supermarket located throughout the Southeast. It carries Elyon brand, which contains sugar, corn syrup, water, kosher fish gelatin from Nile perch or tilapia, cornstarch and vanilla flavors.

Go online to Angel Food, a vegan food supplier in New Zealand, and order the marshmallow kit, which allows you to make your own vegan marshmallows. The cost of the kit, as of publication, is about $8. See Resources.

References and Resources

Sweet & Sara
Angel Food